latest news

Dail rejects Fur Farming (Prohibition) Bill
29 March 2005

Foxes and mink will continue to live a life of misery on fur farms following the rejection by Dail Eireann of the Fur Farming (Prohibition) Bill 2004. The bill was defeated by 67 votes to 50. Those who voted against the bill comprised 62 Fianna Fail TDs, three Progressive Democrats and two Independents.

Please click on the following link to view the full text of the
Parliamentary Debate (22-23 March 2005)

How they voted

The following two lists reveal who voted for and who voted against the Fur Farming (Prohibition) Bill 2004.

The TDs who voted for the bill

Allen, Bernard (FG)
Boyle, Dan (Green)
Broughan, Thomas P (Labour)
Bruton, Richard (FG)
Burton, Joan (Labour)
Costello, Joe (Labour)
Coveney, Simon (FG)
Cowley, Jerry (Independent)
Crawford, Seymour (FG)
Crowe, Sean (SF)
Cuffe, Ciaran (Green)
Deenihan, Jimmy (FG)
Durkan, Bernard J (FG)
English, Damien (FG)
Enright, Olwyn (FG)
Gilmore, Eamon (Labour)
Gogarty, Paul (Green)
Gormley, John (Green)
Gregory, Tony (Independent)
Harkin, Marian (Independent)
Higgins, Joe (SP)
Hogan, Phil (FG)
Howlin, Brendan (Labour)
Kehoe, Paul (FG)
Kenny, Enda (FG)
Lynch, Kathleen (Labour)
McGrath, Finian (Independent)
McHugh, Paddy (Independent)
McManus, Liz (Labour)
Mitchell, Gay (FG)
Morgan, Arthur (SF)
Moynihan-Cronin, Breeda (Labour)
Murphy, Catherine (Independent)
Murphy, Gerard (FG)
Naughten, Denis (FG)
Neville, Dan (FG)
O'Keeffe, Jim (FG)
O'Shea, Brian (Labour)
O'Sullivan, Jan (Labour)
Perry, John (FG)
Rabbitte, Pat (Labour)
Ryan, Eamon (Green)
Sargent, Trevor (Green)
Sherlock, Joe (Labour)
Shortall, Roisin (Labour)
Stagg, Emmet (Labour)
Stanton, David (FG)
Twomey, Liam (Independent)
Upton, Mary (Labour)
Wall, Jack (Labour)

The TDs who voted against the bill

Ahern, Michael (FF)
Ahern, Noel (FF)
Andrews, Barry (FF)
Ardagh, Sean (FF)
Brady, Johnny (FF)
Brady, Martin (FF)
Breen, James (Ind)
Callanan, Joe (FF)
Callely, Ivor (FF)
Carey, Pat (FF)
Carty, John (FF)
Collins, Michael (Ind)
Cooper-Flynn, Beverley (FF)
Coughlan, Mary (FF)
Cregan, John (FF)
Cullen, Martin (FF)
Curran, John (FF)
Davern, Noel (FF)
Dempsey, Tony (FF)
Dennehy, John (FF)
Devins, Jimmy (FF)
Ellis, John (FF)
Fahey, Frank (FF)
Finneran, Michael (FF)
Fitzpatrick, Dermot (FF)
Fleming, Sean (FF)
Gallagher, Pat The Cope (FF)
Glennon, Jim (FF)
Grealish, Noel (PD)
Hanafin, Mary (FF)
Haughey, Sean (FF)
Hoctor, Maire (FF)
Jacob, Joe (FF)
Keaveney, Cecilia (FF)
Kelleher, Billy (FF)
Kelly, Peter (FF)
Killeen, Tony (FF)
Kirk, Seamus (FF)
Kitt, Tom (FF)
Lenihan, Brian (FF)
Lenihan, Conor (FF)
McDowell, Michael (PD)
McEllistrim, Thomas (FF)
McGuinness, John (FF)
Martin, Micheal (FF)
Moloney, John (FF)
Moynihan, Donal (FF)
Moynihan, Michael (FF)
Mulcahy, Michael (FF)
Nolan, MJ (FF)
O Cuiv, Eamon (FF)
O Fearghail, Sean (FF)
O'Connor, Charlie (FF)
O'Donoghue, John (FF)
O'Donovan, Denis (FF)
O'Flynn, Noel (FF)
O'Keeffe, Batt (FF)
O'Keeffe, Ned (FF)
O'Malley, Fiona (PD)
Power, Peter (FF)
Roche, Dick (FF)
Smith, Brendan (FF)
Wallace, Dan (FF)
Wallace, Mary (FF)
Wilkinson, Ollie (FF)
Woods, Michael (FF)
Wright, GV (FF)

Primetime report on fur farming

Click on the link to view RTE's Primetime report on fur farming in Ireland. (Click on "Animal welfare not well served by Irish law" and forward to 13:00 minute mark). The report features footage of animals in fur farm cages.

More info: Fur Farming

For more information on the campaign against fur farming in Ireland, visit the CIWF website

News Menu | Join | Top | Home